Register & Login HERE

Here at AUTHORSdB we've formed the only database of authors, including social media, book listings and much more, for today's mine-field of thousands of aspiring and established writers.

We are a dedicated website that helps authors for free.

Mark Binmore

Mark Binmore Updated January 21, 2016




I'm a Favorite of

Other users interested in
Mark Binmore
Mark Binmore

Author Details

Pen Name
Mark Binmore
Where I Live
Mark Binmore (born 1971) is a British novelist, author of Now Is Not The Time For Trumpets and many other books. In 2015 Mark was ranked one of Britain's 100 new influential gay and lesbian writers It was declared that 'he is widely regarded as one of Britain's most promising novelists, quite regardless of sexuality'. Some of the novels by Mark Binmore are engaged in the excavation of secret histories in the teasing out and restoration of events that have taken place beneath the surface of society. Mark was the subject of Tour De Europa (2015) a book by Chris Henson who followed Mark on his book tour and wrote an observational account of a new author on the road.

Now Is Not The Time For Trumpets (2014) is a fictional memoir of a beautiful, bright young thing Stephen Wallingford. Flitting between the past and present, an account of loss, love, regret is explained through the means of an interview. The book was nominated for two international book awards and is currently being adapted for film. A Life Of Parties (2015) takes up one character featured in Trumpets, Agatha Dewsbury and her life story is presented as a fictional biography. In her short life, Agatha Dewsbury changed from a suburban daughter to a darling of the newspaper gossip pages only to be scandalized and shamefully snubbed and ignored by friends and common folk alike. Both Trumpets and Parties were published together in one special edition Simply Divine (2015).

A Sorta Fairytale (2015) brings together his complete collection of short stories and prose with new liner notes. The collection features all works previously published in Even When Tonight Is Over (2010), The Hair Of The Hound (2011), Hounds Of Winter (2013) Jig Of Life (2014) Soon Before The Sun (2014) and Ember Asleep (2014). Jig Of Life was published in USA and Canada as The J.

Take Down The Flags (TBP 2016) gives stories, poems and memories from May 1945 and has reflections of war from both sides, a chance to look back, to echo on a period of conflict., to laugh, to cry, to relive the pain, the sorrow and the gratitude, but most of all, to make you live again.

Two novels are currently in the works are Simple Pleasures and Glamour-Queen Of Excess alongside two collections of recipes, Christmas and Kitchen and a co-authored project with Jim Harm provisionally titled Kiss The Sky. Mark has also published two memoirs, In Search Of The Fabulous People (2009) and Reflections – Through The Orb Window (2016). Initial copies of Ember Asleep came with a bonus music disc titled Aspects Of Ember Asleep featuring six pieces set to music.

User Recommendations


To write a comment please register or
A great new author
Just finished reading his Simply Divine book (hopefully a review will up and running soon) and now intrigued by his other works. Just bought A Sorta Fairytale which is basically his first six books all in one - a great start.
I met Mark while he was promoting his Trumpets book last year and he appears to be an interesting person to meet and chat to.

I would definitely recommend Simply Divine as a starting point. Two books in one - two biographies of bright young people that will make you laugh, ponder, cry and make you want to step back in time an actually meet them - only the great this is - you can't, they didn't exist. Or did they?
Report this comment Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0